What are the different grades of hardwood lumber?

What are the different grades of hardwood lumber?

Standard Grades of Hardwood Lumber

Grade Trade Name Min. Area of Clear Cuttings Required
No. 1 Common 1C 66-2/3%
No. 2A Common 2AC 50%
No. 2B Common 2BC 50%
No. 3A Common 3AC 33-1/3%

What is the best grade of hardwood lumber?

FAS: (first and second grade) This stands for the highest grade of lumber. FAS grade includes some defects but is considered the premier lumber for furniture and cabinet making. #1 & #2 common: These two grades will have a fair amount of allowable defects and color variations.

Does hardwood need to be graded?

Hardwood lumber is usually graded on the basis of the size and number of cuttings (pieces) that can be obtained from a board when it is cut up and used in the manufacture of a hardwood product.

How do you determine lumber grade?

Grade is determined by the amount of clear surface area a particular board has on its poorest looking side (with hardwoods one side will look better than the other). A higher grade board is long and wide with a large percentage of its area defect-free.

What is the difference between #1 and #2 grade lumber?

#1 Grade: When appearance becomes more of a factor, #1 Grade will contain smaller, fewer, sound, tight knots and have less wane than found in #2 Grade. Keep in mind, that with the introduction of Prime grades, #1 Grade no longer contains some of the better grades that used to be included.

What is builders grade hardwood?

Builder grade flooring is a mix of 70% Natural and 30% Rustic grades. All color variations, plus knots, piths and worm holes are accepted. Cottage is a combination of Select (45%), Natural (40%) and Rustic (15%) grades. All color variations, plus knots, piths and worm holes are accepted.

What does KD mean in woodworking?

You’ll get less movement with kiln-dried (KD) or surface-dry (S-DRY) lumber, which has a moisture content between 16 and 19 percent. (KD-HT means the wood was also heat treated to kill pests, a requirement for imported lumber.)

What’s the difference between #1 and #2 lumber?

1 Common is a standard grade lumber with a knotty look. No. 2 Common has larger knots. It’s good for paneling and shelving.

What does TP mean on lumber?

Timber Products Inspection, Inc. (TP) and its laboratories are accredited by the International Accreditation Service (IAS) and American Lumber Standard Committee (ALSC). TP’s accreditations include inspection services for both preservative treated and fire retardant treated products.

What is #3 grade lumber?

#3 Grade: When appearance is of no concern, this construction grade will contain large knots, excessive wane, occasional knot holes, and manufacturing defects.

What is better than builders grade?

From lowest to highest, they are: 1) builder; 2) quality; 3) custom; and 4) ultra-custom.

What is the difference between #1 and #2 red oak?

Select grade is generally considered the highest grade as it has the least color variation. It costs the more. This is followed by No 1 which has more color variation and some occasional knots, and that is followed by No 2 which has a lot more color variation and knots.

What does SPF mean on lumber?

The SPF we’re talking about is an acronym for “Spruce-Pine-Fir,” the species of trees that make up SPF lumber. SPF lumber can be roughly categorized into two different species in North America – East and West. In Eastern SPF wood species, there are the White Spruce, Black Spruce, Red Spruce, Jack Pine, and Balsam Fir.

What does BTR mean on lumber?


BTR Better
B&B B & Better
CON COM Construction Common Redwood
CON HEART Construction Heart Redwood
STD BTR Standard & Better

What does KD mean on lumber?

What is #2 grade lumber?

2 Lumber. No. 2 lumber is the most common grade for framing. Lumber of this grade contains few defects, but knots are allowed of any quality as long as they are well spaced and do not exceed the size regulations.

What is the difference between basic and builders grade?

The main difference between builder- and higher-grade items is the quality of the materials used in their construction. You might not be able to visually spot the difference, but builder-grade fixtures tend to wear out faster and need attention sooner than their higher-priced counterparts.

What is builder grade wood?

What are the grades of hardwood lumber?

Determine the species.

  • Determine the surface measurement (SM).
  • Determine the poor face,which is the side with the lowest grade.
  • Assume a trial grade for the piece of lumber and then see if all the conditions for that grade are met.
  • Determine if lumber size requirements (length and width) are met for the chosen grade.
  • How to grade hardwood lumber?

    – Exceed NHLA standards for split, bow, warp, twist, side bend & checking – Remove narrow widths from most grades – Provide accurate, computerized tallies

    What are the grades of hardwood flooring?

    Red Oak and White Oak Flooring Grades. Below is the National Wood Flooring Association (NWFA) grade descriptions for Red Oak and White Oak and continuing down are the grade descriptions

  • Domestic Hardwood Flooring Grades.
  • Exotic Flooring Grades.
  • What are the grades of wood?

    Nonstress Lumber Grades. Contains moderate number of tight knots.

  • Appearance Lumber Grades. With appearance lumber,there is additional emphasis on the physical look of the lumber given that it may be exposed once installed,e.g.
  • Stress-Graded Lumber Grades.