Who won the Challenge Cup 2016?

Who won the Challenge Cup 2016?

Hull F.C.
The cup was won by Hull F.C. who beat Warrington Wolves 12–10 in the final at Wembley Stadium on 27 August 2016. The defending champions, Leeds Rhinos who were looking to win the trophy three times in a row were defeated by Huddersfield Giants in the sixth round.

Who won the Challenge Cup?

Wigan Warriors
By Marc Bazeley at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium Liam Marshall’s try three minutes from time saw Wigan Warriors claim the Betfred Challenge Cup for the 20th time with a 16-14 win over Huddersfield.

When did Huddersfield win the Challenge Cup?

2009 Challenge Cup Final

Huddersfield Giants Warrington Wolves
16 25

When did Wigan last win Challenge Cup?

Wigan Warriors – Previous Challenge Cup Finals: 2017 Lost (v Hull FC, 18-14) (at Wembley Stadium) 2013 Won (v Hull FC, 16-0) (at Wembley Stadium) 2011 Won (v Leeds, 28-18) (at Wembley Stadium)

When did Wakefield Trinity win the Challenge Cup?

The 1959–60 Challenge Cup tournament ended in a final between Wakefield Trinity and Hull F.C. The match was played at Wembley Stadium before a crowd of 79,773, with Wakefield Trinity winning 38 – 5.

When was the last time Hull KR won the Challenge Cup?

Hull K.R. Formed in 1882, the club joined the Northern Rugby Football Union in 1897. Hull Kingston Rovers most successful period was during the late 1970s and early 1980s, with Roger Millward leading the club to three league titles between 1978 and 1985, and the club’s only Challenge Cup win in 1980.

Who won the Challenge Cup Final 2020?

Leeds Rhinos
The competition was won by Leeds Rhinos who beat Salford Red Devils 17–16 at Wembley Stadium on 17 October 2020.

Which rugby league team has won the most Challenge Cups?

The current holders of the Challenge Cup are Wigan, beating Huddersfield, 16–14 in the 2022 Final on 28 May 2022 at Tottenham Hotspur Stadium, winning the competition for the twentieth time. Wigan are the most successful club in the history of the competition, winning the Cup a record 20 times.

When was Huddersfield last in the Challenge Cup final?

The assumption that Wigan were the big-game experts and Huddersfield the greenhorns was misleading. Yes, this was Wigan’s eighth major final since Huddersfield’s last in 2009, but the amount of Challenge Cup final experience in the two sides was fairly balanced and both coaches had almost full hands to play with.

When did Wakefield win the Challenge Cup?

Who has won the Lance Todd Trophy the most?

The team with the most winners: Wigan A Wigan player has picked up the Lance Todd trophy on 17 different occasions.

When did Wakefield last beat Castleford?

Reece Lyne is the only Wakefield player featuring on Thursday who played the last time Trinity defeated Castleford – SEVEN years ago. He helped inflict a late 24-22 victory over their derby rivals at Wheldon Road in 2015. But Wakefield have somehow lost all 16 meetings since.

Why are Wakefield called Trinity?

In 1873 a group of young men from the local Holy Trinity Church formed the Wakefield Trinity club.

How many times have St Helens won the Challenge Cup?

St Helens R.F.C.

Club information
Championships 16 (1932, 1953, 1959, 1966, 1970, 1971, 1975, 1996, 1999, 2000, 2002, 2006, 2014, 2019, 2020, 2021)
Challenge Cups 13 (1956, 1961, 1966, 1972, 1976, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2021)
World Club Challenges 2 (2001, 2007)

How many times has St Helens won the Challenge Cup?

Formed in 1873, St Helens are one of the 22 original members of the Northern Rugby Football Union and have been league champions on 16 occasions. St Helens are also the third most successful side in the Challenge Cup with 13 wins in 23 Final appearances.

When did Leeds Rhinos last win the Challenge Cup?

Leeds Rhinos

Club information
Championships 11 (1961, 1969, 1972, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2017)
Challenge Cups 14 (1910, 1923, 1932, 1936, 1941, 1942, 1957, 1968, 1977, 1978, 1999, 2014, 2015, 2020)
World Club Challenges 3 (2005, 2008, 2012)

When did Halifax win the Challenge Cup?

1988 Won (v Halifax, 32-12) (at Wembley Stadium). The following images are courtesy of Frank Orrell. Wigan’s Kevin Iro charges through the Halifax defence to score a try in the Challenge Cup Final at Wembley on Saturday 29th of April 1988. Wigan won the match 32-12.

Who won the most Challenge Cup finals?

Wigan Warriors are the most successful side in the competition’s history, winning the trophy a record 19 times. The Cherry and Whites have also been runners-up the greatest number of times, doing so on 13 occasions. The Warriors have not won the prestigious trophy since 2013, last appearing in a final in 2017.

Who has won the most Rugby League Challenge Cup?

Who has won the most Challenge Cup tournaments? Wigan Warriors are the most successful side in the competition’s history, winning the trophy a record 19 times.

Where are Leeds Rhinos in the table?

Super League Table

Team PTS
6 Hull FC 16
7 Salford Red Devils 14
8 Hull Kingston Rovers 14
9 Leeds Rhinos 13