Who won Brownlow 2009?

Who won Brownlow 2009?

Gary Ablett
Brownlow Medallists: 1924 – Present

Year Player Votes
2011 Dane Swan 34
2010 Chris Judd 30
2009 Gary Ablett 30
2008 Adam Cooney 24

Who has won 3 brownlows?

The medal itself is engraved as the ‘Chas Brownlow Trophy’. Fourteen players have won the Brownlow Medal on multiple occasions and four have won it three times, these being Haydn Bunton Snr (1931, 1932, 1935), Dick Reynolds (1934, 1937, 1938), Bob Skilton (1959, 1963, 1968) and Ian Stewart (1965, 1966, 1971).

Which team has the most Brownlow medalists?

Brownlow Medal Wins By Club

  • South Melbourne/Sydney 14.
  • St Kilda 10.
  • Footscray/Western Bulldogs 10.
  • Collingwood 9.
  • Essendon 8.
  • Fitzroy 8.
  • Geelong 7.
  • Melbourne 7.

Has a Backman won a Brownlow?

Ruckman Norman Ware captained Footscray in 1940 and was given the task of being captain-coach in 1941-42. In 1941, Ware made history by becoming the first, and only, playing coach to win the Brownlow Medal. Ware finished his career having played 200 games.

Has a first year player ever won a Brownlow?

In winning, Hardie joined the legendary Haydn Bunton Senior as the only players to have won the Brownlow Medal in their first season on VFL football. Hardie followed Graham Moss (1976) and Ross Glendinning (1983) as the West Australians who have won Australian Football’s most prestigious individual playing award.

Who is the oldest player to win a Brownlow Medal?

Barry Round (right in photo) is the oldest winner of a Brownlow Medal, having claimed the 1981 prize at the age of 31 years and 238 days.

Who was the best AFL player of all time?

Leigh Matthews Better still, just one man has won more best and fairest awards than Matthews. Matthews was even named the AFL’s Greatest Player of the 20th Century.

Who is the youngest person to win a Brownlow?

Wanganeen was the first Aboriginal player to win the Brownlow Medal in the history of the award, and, at age 20, he was the youngest winner since Denis Ryan in 1936….

1993 Brownlow Medal
Winner Gavin Wanganeen (Essendon) 18 votes
Television/radio coverage
Network Seven Network
← 1992 Brownlow Medal 1994 →

How many AFL players have 400 games?

5 Dustin Fletcher
Most VFL/AFL games

# Player Games
2 Michael Tuck 426‡
3 Shaun Burgoyne 407
4 Kevin Bartlett 403‡
5 Dustin Fletcher 400‡

How much is a Brownlow Medal worth?

The value is estimated to be between $75,000 and $100,000.

Has anyone ever won a Brownlow in their first year?

A Brownlow on debut Courted by several VFL clubs, the back pocket rocket joined a different breed of Bulldogs and stunned the competition by claiming the Brownlow Medal following his first season at Footscray in 1985. Did he understand the significance of winning the medal in his debut season?

Can only midfielders win the Brownlow?

The voting system has come under scrutiny because the medal is almost always won by midfield players, with relatively few key-position players ever winning.

Who is the best ruckman of all time?

For example, Western Bulldogs big man Tim English is the highest-rated ruckman in the league (of those that have played a minimum three games and 35% game time in that position) when it comes to Champion Data rating points, due to his work rate and ability to influence matches in other ways than just palming the …