What is the main goal of FEMA 1 point?

What is the main goal of FEMA 1 point?

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is the federal agency responsible for leading the Nation’s efforts to prepare for, protect and mitigate against, respond to, and recover from the impacts of natural disasters and man-made incidents or terrorist events.

How does FEMA measure the severity of a storm?

The Waffle House Index is an informal metric named after the Waffle House restaurant chain to determine the effect of a storm and the likely scale of assistance required for disaster recovery. It was coined by former administrator Craig Fugate of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA).

What is code yellow at the hospital?

Fire, smoke, or smell of smoke. Code Yellow: Hospital-only trauma. Code Blue: Cardiac or respiratory arrest or medical.

What does FEMA consider a disaster?

The President can declare a major disaster for any natural event, including any hurricane, tornado, storm, high water, wind-driven water, tidal wave, tsunami, earthquake, volcanic eruption, landslide, mudslide, snowstorm, or drought, or, regardless of cause, fire, flood, or explosion, that the President determines has …

What FEMA means?

the Federal Emergency Management Agency
Description: The mission of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that, as a Nation, we work together to build, sustain, and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

What can FEMA do?

FEMA’s Individuals and Households Program (IHP) provides financial and direct services to eligible individuals and households affected by a disaster, who have uninsured or underinsured necessary expenses and serious needs. Assistance for individuals and households. Other programs for disaster survivors.

What does FEMA do during hurricane?

A large part of FEMA’s job is helping people recover after a disaster. FEMA offers federal grants to victims to help them with temporary housing, emergency home repairs, loss of personal property, funeral and medical expenses, among other things.

What is FEMA in us?

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) supports citizens and emergency personnel to build, sustain, and improve the nation’s capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from, and mitigate all hazards.

What is the GAR for FEMA?

The Office of the Governor’s Authorized Representative (GAR) announces the availability of Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP) funds as a result of the Federal Disaster Declaration for Hurricane Maria (FEMA-4339-DR-PR).

Is 559 FEMA answers?

FEMA IS-559: Local Damage Assessment Course Overview Course Overview This course provides information and resources that will enable participants to plan an effective damage assessment program and conduct rapid and effective damage assessments in order to save lives, protect property and the environment, and begin the process of recovery and

Is FEMA Public Assistance?

FEMA’s Public Assistance program reimburses counties, the Commonwealth, tribes, and certain nonprofits for eligible costs of disaster-related debris removal, emergency protective measures and repair and replacement of disaster-damaged facilities

Is course list FEMA?

– Incident Management – Operational Planning – Disaster Logistics – Emergency Communications – Service to Disaster Victims – Continuity Programs – Public Disaster Communications – Integrated Preparedness – Hazard Mitigation

What is NIMS in FEMA?

practice of emergency management and incident response throughout the country, NIMS focuses on five key areas, or components. These components link together and work in unison to form a larger and comprehensive incident management system. NIMS Components include: • Preparedness • Communications and Information Management • Resource Management