What is the ISO 14000 standards series?

What is the ISO 14000 standards series?

The primary objective of the ISO 14000 series of standards is to promote effective environmental management systems in organizations. The standards seek to provide cost-effective tools that make use of best practices for organizing and applying information about environmental management.

What does the ISO 14000 covers?

ISO 14000 is a set of international standards covering environmental management systems (EMS), environmental auditing, environmental labeling, the assessment of environmental performance and life cycle evaluation.

What is the ISO 14001 standard?

ISO 14001 is an internationally agreed standard that sets out the requirements for an environmental management system. It helps organizations improve their environmental performance through more efficient use of resources and reduction of waste, gaining a competitive advantage and the trust of stakeholders.

What is the latest version of ISO 14000?

ISO 14001:2015
The current version of ISO 14001 is ISO 14001:2015, which was published in September 2015.

What are the uses of ISO 14000 and 14001 in an organization?

ISO 14001 sets out the criteria for an environmental management system and can be certified to. It maps out a framework that a company or organization can follow to set up an effective environmental management system.

Is ISO 14001 a legal requirement?

According to ISO 14001, compliance obligations are legal requirements that an organisation must comply with and other requirements that an organisation has to, or chooses to comply with. These requirements can include laws and regulations, contracts, codes of practice and voluntary commitments like industry standards.

What is the difference between ISO 9001 14001 and 45001?

ISO 14001 covers the implementation of an Environmental Management System (EMS), placing focus on an organisation’s impact on the external environment. The standard aims to reduce an organisation’s waste, pollution and energy consumption. ISO 45001 on the other hand, focuses on an organisation’s internal environment.