What is the capital island of Tonga?

What is the capital island of Tonga?

Nukuʿalofa, capital and chief port of Tonga, on the northern shore of Tongatapu Island, in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. Its deep-draft harbour is protected by reefs. Landmarks include the Royal Palace (1865–67, home of the Tongan royal family), on the seafront at the end of the old wharf, and the Royal Tombs.

What country owns Tonga?

U.S.-TONGA RELATIONS The Kingdom of Tonga was a protected state of the United Kingdom until 1970. It is the South Pacific’s last Polynesian kingdom, a constitutional hereditary monarchy.

What are the 4 main islands in Tonga?

It has 169 islands, 36 of them inhabited, which are in three main groups – Vavaʻu, Haʻapai, and Tongatapu – and cover an 800-kilometre (500-mile)-long north–south line. The total size is just 747 km2 (288 sq mi).

What is the capital of Cook island?

Avarua DistrictCook Islands / Capital

Avarua, town and capital of the Cook Islands, South Pacific Ocean. It is located on the north-central coast of the island of Rarotonga, in the southern Cook Islands, about 2,100 miles (3,400 km) north of New Zealand. Avarua is Rarotonga’s main town and commercial centre.

What is the capital of Marshall Islands?

MajuroMarshall Islands / Capital
Majuro, atoll in the Ratak (eastern) chain of the Marshall Islands and capital of the Republic of the Marshall Islands, in the western Pacific Ocean. The atoll comprises 64 islets on an elliptically shaped reef 25 miles (40 km) long and has a total land area of 4 square miles (10 square km).

Is Tonga a part of USA?

Port at Vava’u Island, Tonga. Tonga’s total land area is dispersed between latitudes 15° and 23° S and longitudes 173° and 177° W. The capital, Nuku’alofa, is on the island of Tongatapu. Tonga is a member of the Commonwealth and of the United Nations.

Is Cook Island a poor country?

The Cook Islands is rated a “High-Income Country” by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD). This is calculated by dividing the country’s total annual income by the total population to arrive at a per-person income more than $12,000.

Is Tonga part of Cook Islands?

The Cook Islands are a combination of 15 islands and atolls located in the middle of the South Pacific with Tonga to the west, and the Society Islands of French Polynesia to the east. The 15 islands are broken up into two groups: The Northern Group: Manihiki, Nassau, Penryhn, Pukapuka, Rakahanga and Suwarrow.

What’s the capital of Majuro?

Majuro has the largest population of any atoll or island in the Marshall Islands. The atoll’s main settlement, which is situated on three islands connected by landfills—Dalap, Uliga, and Darrit—serves as the capital of the republic.

What is the capital of Vanuatu?

Port VilaVanuatu / Capital
Port-Vila, the capital of Vanuatu, lies on the southwest coast of Éfaté and is home to about two-thirds of the island’s residents; it has a good harbour (Mélé Bay), which contains a small private island, Iririki.

Is Tonga a country or city?

Tonga, officially Kingdom of Tonga, Tongan Fakatu’i ‘o Tonga, also called Friendly Islands, country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. It consists of some 170 islands divided into three main island groups: Tongatapu in the south, Ha’apai in the centre, and Vava’u in the north.

Is Tonga a part of Australia?

The Kingdom of Tonga is a Polynesian country that lies to the south of Samoa, southeast of Fiji and north east of New Zealand.