What is diencephalon and mesencephalon?

What is diencephalon and mesencephalon?

The diencephalon (or interbrain) is a division of the forebrain (embryonic prosencephalon), and is situated between the telencephalon and the midbrain (embryonic mesencephalon). The diencephalon has also been known as the ‘tweenbrain in older literature.

What are the 3 parts of the diencephalon?

The three segments of the diencephalon are called prosomere 3, prosomere 2, and prosomere 1, from rostral to caudal. Each of the three prosomeres has alar and basal components, of which the alar parts are most prominent.

What part of the brain is the mesencephalon?

midbrain, also called mesencephalon, region of the developing vertebrate brain that is composed of the tectum and tegmentum. The midbrain serves important functions in motor movement, particularly movements of the eye, and in auditory and visual processing.

What is the difference between mesencephalon and midbrain?

Mesencephalon (midbrain) is continuous with the diencephalon rostrally and with the pons caudally. The midbrain is the smallest part of the brain stem, being about 2 cm in length. It consists of a tectum posteriorly, a tegmentum inferiorly, and a base anteriorly.

What does the mesencephalon become?

The mesencephalon gives rise to the midbrain structures, and the metencephalon the pons and cerebellum. The myelencephalon derives in the medulla. The caudal part of the neural tube develops and differentiates into the spinal cord.

Where is the metencephalon located?

The metencephalon (see Fig. 3.2) is the embryonic portion of the hindbrain. It differentiates into the pons and cerebellum, and contains part of the fourth ventricle. Nuclei of the trigeminal nerve (CN V), abducens nerve (CN VI), facial nerve (CN VII), and vestibulocochlear nerve (CN VIII) are within the pons.

What develops from the mesencephalon?

What is the function of metencephalon?

The metencephalon It is involved in motor control and sensory analysis, acting as the sensory/motor relay center. Cerebellum – The “cauliflower” piece in the back of the brain that is responsible for sensorimotor function (the part that helps regulate posture, balance, and coordination).

What are the telencephalon diencephalon mesencephalon metencephalon myelencephalon?

Recall that during embryonic development the brain is initially composed of three primary vesicles: Forebrain, Midbrain, and Hindbrain. These vesicles ultimately become five brain divisions: Telencephalon, Diencephalon, Mesencephalon (midbrain), Metencephalon, and Myelencephalon.

What is located in the mesencephalon metencephalon and myelencephalon?

The brainstem consists of the myelencephalon (medulla oblongata), the pons (a part of the metencephalon), and the mesencephalon (midbrain). Although developmentally the cerebellum is a part of the metencephalon, it is considered a suprasegmental structure and not a part of the brainstem.