What areas of Christchurch were affected by earthquake?

What areas of Christchurch were affected by earthquake?

The Crown purchased almost 8,000 properties located in the areas worst affected by the 2010–2011 Canterbury earthquakes, including in the Port Hills, Waimakariri, Southshore, South New Brighton, Brooklands, and the Ōtākaro Avon River Corridor. In 2015, we took over responsibility for these areas on behalf of the Crown.

What buildings were destroyed in the Christchurch earthquake?

Christchurch’s central city and eastern suburbs were badly affected, with damage to buildings and infrastructure already weakened by the magnitude 7.1 Canterbury earthquake of 4 September 2010 and its aftershocks….2011 Christchurch earthquake.

Damaged Catholic cathedral two months on
Peak acceleration 1.51 g

What caused the earthquake in Christchurch 2011?

The earthquake was caused by the rupture of a 15-kilometre-long fault along the southern edge of the city, from Cashmere to the Avon–Heathcote estuary. The fault slopes southward beneath the Port Hills and did not break the surface – scientists used instrument measurements to determine its location and movement.

Where was the epicenter of the 2011 Christchurch earthquake?

At 12.51 p.m. on Tuesday 22 February 2011, a magnitude 6.3 earthquake caused severe damage in Christchurch and Lyttelton, killing 185 people and injuring several thousand. The earthquake’s epicentre was near Lyttelton, just 10 km south-east of Christchurch’s central business district.

Where are the red zones in Christchurch?

Red-zoned land in the Port Hills, Brooklands, Southshore and South New Brighton, along with the historic Bill Sutton House, are now owned by the Council. Ownership of Crown-owned Ōtākaro Avon River Corridor land is transferring progressively in phases as the 5,500 property titles are reconfigured.

What caused the 2010 Canterbury earthquake?

The earthquake’s epicentre was located some 25 miles (40 km) west of Christchurch near the town of Darfield, and the focus was located about 6 miles (10 km) beneath the surface. It was caused by right-lateral movement along a previously unknown regional strike-slip fault in the western section of the Canterbury Plains.

How big is the Red Zone in Christchurch?

6.13 km2
It covers 6.13 km2 (2.37 sq mi). It had an estimated population of 110 as of June 2021, with a population density of 17.9 people per km2. Pop.

Who owns red zone?

National Football League
NFL RedZone (stylized as NFL RedZone from NFL Network) is an American sports television channel owned and operated by NFL Network since 2009….NFL RedZone.

Owner National Football League
Sister channels NFL Network
Launched September 13, 2009

What is the red zone Christchurch?

The residential red zone refers to areas of land in and around Christchurch, New Zealand, that experienced severe damage in the 2010 and 2011 Christchurch earthquakes and were deemed infeasible to rebuild on. Through voluntary buyouts, the Crown acquired and demolished or removed over 8,000 properties.

What is the poorest town in NZ?

Kawerau is New Zealand’s poorest town. It has the country’s lowest average income, its highest share of sole parents and beneficiaries, and has been dominated for 30 years by the Mongrel Mob.