What areas come under uttlesford?

What areas come under uttlesford?

Uttlesford is a thriving, predominantly rural district in north-west Essex encompassing Saffron Walden, Great Dunmow, Stansted Mountfitchet and Thaxted and about 100 villages and hamlets in between.

Who controls uttlesford council?

The political make-up of the council is: 5 Conservative Party councillors, 2 Uttlesford Independent Group councillors, 8 Liberal Democrat and Green Alliance councillors and 24 Residents for Uttlesford councillors. Cllr Petrina Lees is Leader of the council and Cllr Heather Asker is Chair of the council 2022-23.

How many parishes does uttlesford have?

55 civil parishes
Uttlesford has 55 civil parishes, of which 51 have their own governance body – parish or town council.

What county is Uttlesford?


Uttlesford District
Constituent country England
Region East of England
Non-metropolitan county Essex
Status Non-metropolitan district

Is Uttlesford under Essex County Council?

There are twelve district and borough councils, including Uttlesford, within the area of Essex.

Which local authority is Saffron Walden?

Uttlesford District Council
Home – Uttlesford District Council.

What local authority is Dunmow?

The Essex County Council
The Essex County Council Dunmow Division is administered by Essex County Council.

Where does the name Uttlesford come from?

Its name is derived from its location within the ancient hundred of Uttlesford, usually spelled Vdelesford or Wdelesford in the Domesday manuscript of 1086, possibly from Udel’s ford. The River Uttle flows from Elmdon to meet the River Cam at Wendens Ambo.

What boroughs come under Essex County Council?

You can apply to Essex County Council if you’re an Essex County Council area resident and your council tax is payable to:

  • Basildon.
  • Braintree.
  • Brentwood.
  • Castle Point.
  • Chelmsford.
  • Colchester.
  • Epping Forest.
  • Harlow.

What county is uttlesford?

Is uttlesford under Essex County Council?

Is Romford a London Borough?

Romford is a large town in East London and the administrative centre of the London Borough of Havering. It is located 14.1 miles (22.7 km) northeast of Charing Cross and is one of the major metropolitan centres identified in the London Plan.

Which is the poorest area in England?

In 2010, Jaywick was assessed as the most deprived area in England. In September 2015, it was again named as the most deprived, according to the indices of deprivation based on several factors including: poverty, crime, education and skill levels, unemployment and housing, after being assessed in 2012–13.

Is Romford a rich area?

The Greater London area, of which Romford is a part, is the most expensive part of the UK for property investors. However, the figures show that Havering is amongst the cheapest London boroughs in which to buy a property.

Is Romford considered London?

Romford was part of Essex until 1965, when it became part of Greater London. Today, it is one of the largest commercial, retail, entertainment and leisure districts in London and has a well-developed night-time economy as well. Its population, as of 2011, was 122,854.