What are the requirements to be a state trooper in Colorado?
Applicants must be a Colorado resident to apply.
- Must be age 20 years of age to apply and be at least 21 years of age at the start of the next scheduled academy class;
- Must have a high school diploma or GED at time of application;
How much does a Colorado state trooper make?
Cadets currently start at $5,923 per month while attending the Colorado State Patrol Training Academy. Upon graduation from the Academy and successful completion of the Field Training Program, Cadets then gain the title of “Trooper” and their salary is increased to $7,056 per month.
How many troopers are in the Colorado State Patrol?
|Colorado State Patrol
|Colonel Matthew C. Packard, Chief
|Colorado Department of Public Safety
Does Colorado have state troopers?
A Colorado State Trooper has a direct impact in protecting life and serving Colorado’s communities. Colorado State Troopers are integral in protecting communities across the state and ensuring our roadways remain safe for residents and visitors alike.
How long is the Colorado State Patrol Academy?
A Colorado State Patrol Cadet attends the prescribed training 28-week academy (starting in September 2021) and must successfully complete every course.
How long does it take to become a police officer in Colorado?
The State of Colorado requires 62 hours to be certified as a police officer.
What is CSP in Colorado?
CSP. MISSION. The mission of the Colorado State Patrol is to ensure a safe and secure environment for all persons by utilizing the strengths of our members to provide professional law enforcement services that reflect our Core Values of Honor, Duty, and Respect. Motor Carriers.
How much does the police academy cost in Colorado?
Program Cost: For Colorado residents, tuition and fees for the academy will be approximately $9,000* (with COF applied). Included in that tuition is all your ammo for the range. Nonresident tuition, please contact the Cashier’s Office and financial aid is available for eligible students.
Do you need a college degree to be a cop in Colorado?
A high school diploma or an equivalency certificate; Current first aid and cardiopulmonary resuscitation certificates or equivalents; Have successfully completed, within the two years prior to application, an approved Colorado basic training course.
What does the Colorado State Patrol do?
The mission of the Colorado State Patrol is to ensure a safe and secure environment for all persons by utilizing the strengths of our members to provide professional law enforcement services that reflect our Core Values of Honor, Duty, and Respect.
How long is police academy in Colorado?
The Reserve Police Academy is approximately five months in duration. Classes are held at the Denver Police Academy during evenings and weekends. Upon graduation from the academy, reserve police officers are assigned to one of the six Patrol Districts and must then successfully complete field training and evaluation.
Can you become a police officer with a DUI in Colorado?
All law enforcement applicants must pass a background check prior to becoming a police officer. However, a prior DUI conviction won’t necessarily preclude an applicant from becoming an officer. Some police departments have particularly strict policies against hiring officers with prior DUI convictions.
How do you answer do you know how fast you were going?
The officer might ask “Do you know why I stopped you?” If you answer at all, your answer should always be “No.” Similarly, if the officer asks “Do you know how fast you were going?,” the best answer is “Yes.” The officer may then tell you how fast you were going but do not argue.
What is Port of Entry Colorado?
The Port of Entry exists to encourage and promote the safe operation of commercial motor vehicles in a manner that safeguards the motoring public while protecting the states infrastructure through uniform practices and enforcement procedures.