What are the 5 main religions in Indonesia?

What are the 5 main religions in Indonesia?

However, Indonesia is not a Muslim nation according to its constitution. The archipelago is a multifaith country and officially recognizes six religions – Islam, Protestantism, Catholicism, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Confucianism.

What is the main religion in Indonesia?

Religion in Indonesia

Percentage share (of total population) Absolute numbers (in millions)
Muslim 87.2 207.2
Protestant 6.9 16.5
Catholic 2.9 6.9
Hindu 1.7 4.0

What are the 4 main religions in Indonesia?

Islam (86.7%)

  • Protestantism (7.6%)
  • Catholicism (3.12%)
  • Hinduism (1.74%)
  • Buddhism (0.77%)
  • Confucianism (0.03%)
  • What is the main religion in Indonesia 2021?

    Indonesia Religion, Economy and Politics In addition to this diverse population, Indonesia is also the world’s most populous Muslim-majority country, as just over 87% of Indonesians declared Muslim on the 2010 census. 9.87% are Christian, 1.69% are Hindu, 0.72% are Buddhist and 0.56% practice other faiths.

    What was the first religion in Indonesia?

    Hinduism. Despite comprising less than two percent of the population, Hinduism is one of the oldest religions in Indonesia. First brought to the archipelago by traders from India during the first century, Hinduism was once the predominant religion that was adopted by the most powerful ancient empires.

    What are the 6 religions in Indonesia?

    The government of Indonesia only recognized six official religions, Islam, Protestantism, Catholicism, Hinduism, Buddhism and Confucianism, as previously spelled out in the 1965 Presidential Decree on the Prevention of Blasphemy and Abuse of Religions.

    Which is the fastest growing religion in Indonesia?

    Christianity is Indonesia’s second-largest religion, after Islam.

  • It is the second largest religion after Islam.
  • In recent times, the rate of growth and spread of Christianity has increased, especially among the Chinese minority.
  • What religions are legal in Indonesia?

    The Ministry of Religious Affairs (MORA) extends official recognition to six religious groups: Islam, Catholicism, Protestantism, Buddhism, Hinduism, and Confucianism.

    Is there religious freedom in Indonesia?

    The Indonesian constitution provides some degree of freedom of religion. The government generally respects religious freedom for the six officially recognized religions (Islam, Protestantism, Catholicism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Confucianism) and/or folks religion.

    What was Indonesia’s first religion?

    Is Indonesia a safe country?

    Indonesia is mostly a safe country to travel to, though it still has its dangers from natural disasters to terrorism and petty theft. Be very cautious on the streets of Indonesia and plan your trip carefully.

    When did Indonesia accept Islam?

    There is evidence of Arab Muslim traders entering Indonesia as early as the 8th century. However, it was not until the end of the 13th century that the spread of Islam began.

    What is the Indonesian Ministry of Religious Affairs?

    Ministry of Religious Affairs is an Indonesian ministry that administers religious affairs. It is responsible to the president, and is led by a minister.

    What is the role of Ministry of Religious Affairs?

    The Ministry of Religious Affairs took over marriage, religious court, mosque and hajj affairs from Ministry of Home Affairs, Islamic High Court from Ministry of Justice and religious education from Ministry of Education, Pedagogy and Culture. Some people hold view that Ministry of Religious Affairs is not a new creation.

    Who was the First Minister of Religious Affairs in Iran?

    The proposal was accepted during the sessions of the Committee on 25–28 November 1945, thus the Ministry of Religious Affairs was created at 3 January 1946 with Haji Mohammad Rasjidi as Minister of Religious Affairs. Haji Mohammad Rasjidi was State Minister at the time that handled Islamic affairs.