How many floors is the State Department?

How many floors is the State Department?

seven stories
The building is a plain, sandcolored, modern structure consisting of seven stories and a basement and containing 274,000 square feet of usable space. Inscribed in modest capitals on the front, to the right of the main entrance, is the designation “Department of State” and the address “320 Twenty-first Street, N.W.”

When was the State Department building built?

The State Department consists of 2 separate buildings designed by 2 different architects, for different agencies, constructed almost 20 years apart: the War Department Building, 1939-1941 and the State Department extension, 1957-1960.

What building does the US secretary of state work in?

Once contruction of the major portion of the east and center wings of the Treasury building we know today had been substantially completed, the Secretary moved into a third floor office at the west end of the center wing with a view across the east lawn towards the White House.

Where is the US State Dept located?

Washington, D.C.
The department is headquartered in the Harry S Truman Building, a few blocks from the White House, in the Foggy Bottom neighborhood of Washington, D.C.; “Foggy Bottom” is thus sometimes used as a metonym.

When did State Department move to Foggy Bottom?

Sherwood writes, “Between 1950 and 1970, Foggy Bottom was transformed from a run-down industrial slum to a high-rent luxury apartment district, considered one of the best downtown residential sections in the city.” Two factors played into this. One is that the U.S. Department of State moved to the neighborhood in 1947.

How big is the State Department?

More than 230 years later, the Department’s workforce includes some 13,000 members of the Foreign Service, 11,000 Civil Service employees, and 45,000 locally employed staff at more than 270 diplomatic missions worldwide. Our role has also changed in response to changing global circumstances.

How many offices does the State Department have?

Through its 29 domestic offices, DSS investigates violations of the law involving U.S. passports and visas and protects the Secretary of State and visiting foreign dignitaries.

Who works at the State Department?

What offices are in the State Department?

Bureaus and Offices

  • Secretary of State (S)
  • Under Secretary for Arms Control and International Security (T)
  • Under Secretary for Civilian Security, Democracy, and Human Rights (J)
  • Under Secretary for Economic Growth, Energy, and Environment (E)
  • Under Secretary for Management (M)
  • Under Secretary for Political Affairs (P)

Why is D.C. called Foggy Bottom?

History. Foggy Bottom is thought to have received its name due to an atmospheric quirk of its low lying, marshy riverside location, which made it susceptible to concentrations of fog, and later, industrial smoke.

What is the main job of the State Department?

The Department of State advises the President and leads the nation in foreign policy issues. The State Department negotiates treaties and agreements with foreign entities, and represents the United States at the United Nations.